Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



At Hilmarton Preschool we offer a stimulating learning environment that enables children to progress towards the early learning goals.



We achieve this throughout the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which helps to  prepare them for entry into Junior School.

Our teaching practice is based on the four key principles of The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) :-

A Unique Child
Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and


The 3 prime and 4 specific areas of learning and development throughout the EYFS are outlined below.


The Prime areas are:

       Personal, Social and Emotional Development
       Communication and Language
       Physical Developmenteyfs logo 2


The Specific areas are:

    ✎  Literacy
    ✎  Understanding the World
    ✎  Expressive Arts and Design